• lakeview
  • Otter Tarn Lakestead accommodation
  • wak-lake
  • Woodland walk Otter Tarn Estate
  • toadmire
  • hot tub
  • Mungeon Barn bathroom
  • Mungeon Barn living area
  • Otter Tarn
  • Otter Tarn entrance sign

Reviews | Guestbook

Mungeon Barn

Spectacular!!! We have just returned from a fabulous family weekend in Mungeon Barn at Otter Tarn. I really can't praise this place enough, the whole area is truly spectacular and the barn itself is amazing. We were there to celebrate my mothers 70th birthday, and so the barn made an ideal getaway for a family of eight. It has 4 bedrooms, 3 doubles and a twin. The master bedroom is huge, and has a lovely modern en-suite with rainfall shower. The other 3 bedrooms get to share the other 2 bathrooms, one of which is a huge family bathroom with free standing rainfall shower and bath big enough to fit any one six foot or even slightly bigger. The 3rd bathroom is at the side of the utility room and is really just a shower room but perfectly adequate and well decorated.

The main living area is a beautiful kitchen, dining and living area, reached by climbing the modern wooden and glass staircase from the lower level (oh yes, the bedrooms and all the bathrooms are on the ground floor), the living area is modern airy and bright, with quality furnishings, two large sofas which are extremely comfortable and an armchair, which the over sixties were fighting over. Off of the main living room and down a few stairs there is a smaller living area with another sofa and TV, and an array of board games, this area has clearly been thought about and is an ideal spot for the kids to play. Outside there is the lovely addition of a hot tub, which my family and I made full use of, even though it was December.

Everything is provided, Kath and John (the owners) have thought of everything, from towels for the hot tub to tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets, cling film and foil, there was even a homemade loaf of bread and a sticky toffee pudding. Kath also very kindly bought my Mum a bottle of wine and a card for her birthday. Kath and John a truly fabulous hosts!!

I can honestly say that there are no negatives to be said about Mungeon barn, waking up there in that beautiful setting for three days made me and my family very happy, all of us cannot wait to visit again!!!!

December 2016

We have just returned from a week at mungeon barn and all I can say is wow!! Beautiful place and great location. The full property is finished to an excellent standard. Kitchen is fully equipped to cook a full 3 course dinner and some. We were a group of 3 couples with 2 7 year olds and a 5 month old baby and was perfect for all of us. One tip take your own toilet roll and also some wasp spray (summer months I'm guessing) all in all fantastic holiday. Great hot tub and outdoor area. TVs in every room and the den area was great for the kids. Kathy the owner was lovely very friendly and helpful. The village of Cartmel is just down the road and is lovely. We went to the races August bank holiday and was a brilliant day out for everyone. The beds were so comfy anpd the large sofas were too, felt extremely comfy throughout. Would love to return for another visit next year.

August 2016

 

Billy Boo

We (family of 5) stayed for a week in Billy Boo in April 19 and had the best time. Accommodation is stunning, it goes without saying we all loved the hot tub, which was perfect on a chilly early spring evening, but also the panoramic floor to celling windows/views, the extensive decking areas, the cosy log burner, spacious open plan layout and immediate access to hill walks (suitable for younger kids).

The location is on farm slightly off the beaten track but still within easy access of many local towns and attractions (Bowness/Windemere only 20 min drive). We had no problem keeping our 3 kids (5, 9 and 11) entertained throughout with the cliff hanger escape rooms, Brockhole zip slide, Grizdale tree top trek, Ambleside climbing wall and sticky toffee pudding in Cartmel the highlights. All were within easy 30 mins drive.

Kath (the owner) was very much the hostess with the mostest, keeping us well informed about the property and local attractions both prior to and during our visit and going above and beyond to assist us with any requests for assistance (even bringing us a travel cot late on a Sunday evening).

We will definitely be back soon. Our eldest son has already requested that we change his regular birthday visit to Blackpool pleasure beach for another stay at Otter Tarn (high praise indeed as he is a coaster fanatic).

April 2019

For people with busy lives and want a luxury getaway break with a truly 5 star lodges then look no further. This is our second trip and Kath the owner is fantastic. These lodges are only 3 miles away from Cartmel and easy access to south lakes. We stayed in Billy Boo lodge which is beautifully laid out and has all the things you need. The hot tub is great to soak after a day out walking in the hills or just to relax and unwind with a drink. The tarn is stunning and you can sit and watch the fisherman catch the rainbow trout or maybe spot a few deer that tend to come out each night. A couple of things I would recommend is Lingholm Quad Treks as its a great activity and Bigland Hall for guests who want to enjoy a spot of horse riding. For a quality pub meal head over to Pig and Whistle in Cartmel as you won't be disappointed. Overall this is an amazing place and will supply a mass of memories for you to reflect on.

April 2017

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to otter tarn Billy Boo. We have been going to the Lakes for years and have stayed in many accommodations but this is absolutely beautiful. The pictures really don't do it justice. Highly recommended at a really good price for what you get. Fresh cut flowers, bread and homemade Christmas cake for the kids on arrival. Lodges done to a really high standard, clean and comfortable.

November 2016

My wife and I recently stayed for a week in Billy Boo lodge at Otter Tarn, Mungeon Farm near Backbarrow in the south Lake District.

In summary : Otter Tarn offers 4 recently built luxury and large contemporary lodges as well as a large converted traditional barn, for self catering accommodation in an idyllic setting a short driving distance from Lake Windermere. The accommodation and setting is of the absolute highest standards available for self catering in the Lake District area.

In detail : Mungeon Farm is a working farm (but probably the cleanest and neatest working farm you will ever see), owned by Kath & John Blackett. The farm offers Mungeon Barn - a traditional style converted stone barn - for parties of up to 8 people, and four newly built lodges for parties of up to 6 people. All of the accommodations have their own hot tub. The farm is found a few minutes drive off the A590 in the South Lakes area, via the village of Backbarrow. The location is extremely quiet and peaceful. Mungeon Barn sits close to the main farmhouse and on entering the grounds of the farm from the lane, you drive past the barn and farmhouse down a short access drive to a large grassed circular clearing in a wooded area, where the four lodges are located. Adjacent to the clearing is a large and beautiful fishing lake - Otter Tarn.

The setting and lodges have been architecturally designed and landscaped to a very high standard, so that the four lodges sit around the outer edge of the clearing facing each other, but at such a distance so as to ensure there is no sense of lack of privacy or intrusion from guests at adjacent lodges. The lodges themselves are contemporary style designs with large glass frontages combined with wood cladding, each has a large wraparound raised deck that can be accessed from the main living area as well as the three bedrooms, and the hot tub area can also be accessed via the decked area. I believe all the lodges are identical to Billy Boo - which we stayed in, and the accommodation comprises of a large open plan living area leading into the also large kitchen area, with three en-suite bedrooms leading off the main living area. Two bedrooms are doubles and one is a twin, two of the en-suites have walk in showers and one has a bath with shower over it.

The first thing that strikes you about the lodges is the grand scale of design and ‘Wow’ factor they deliver, the second thing is the high quality of the fixtures and furnishings that have been used and the attention to detail in all aspects of the building work carried out.

Everything you should expect from top end luxury accommodation is present here - Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, luxurious bedding, underfloor heating, hot tub, WiFi etc - it’s all here and you don’t end up after a few days of thinking ‘this is wonderful’ - to thinking ‘its just a shame about…’

We were met by Kath Blackett on arrival who quickly but comprehensively showed us all the key things we needed to know about the lodge, and who then left us alone apart from checking in with us briefly after a day or so to ensure there were no problems, and also being immediately available to sort out the satellite provided WiFi when it dropped out one day during heavy rain. We found Kath to be friendly and approachable at all times and a pleasure to deal with.

My wife walked around the fishing lake first thing one morning and is still raving about what a particularly serene and beautiful place it is - although she did not see the otter that does actually reside on the lake.

I was surprised to find Otter Tarn has not yet received a review on TripAdvisor - particularly as it is such fantastic accommodation, although you will find it on Facebook and Twitter - and their Facebook page has many photos and currently 31 guest reviews on it - every one of which rates it as 5 stars.

In conclusion - we were really, really impressed by Otter Tarn, not just the beautiful setting and top end luxury accommodation, but also by Kath Blackett as a host and the incredibly well thought through and delivered guest experience she and her husband have managed to provide. This self catering accommodation must be about the best currently available in the Lake District area, and sets the standard for all other providers to match - I can’t honestly see how it could be surpassed.

June 2016

Neddy Cut

What a wonderful place and wonderful people. When my partner first showed me this place I nearly ruled it out due to having young children 1 and 4, I thought the outdoor space may have been an issue. I am so glad we decided to book as it was not an issue at all, was amazing and our children loved it, such a sense of space, playing freely on the grass, meeting the farm animals and even feeding the lambs which our daughter absolutely loved.

They gave us lots of ideas for days out we could do in the area with the children which was great and we enjoyed some great family days. And when their day was done and fast asleep, we could spend our time relaxing in the hot-tub admiring the views and cozying up on the couch with a glass of wine and amazing cheese board from a shop they recommended in cartmel (so delicious).

I would definitely recommend staying here the properties are immaculate, the people are lovely and the balance of time with the children and for ourselves was perfect. We will definitely be returning.

Stacey, June 2019

We have now stayed at the luxury lodges (Neddy Cut first [November 2017] then Tewets) at Otter Tarn twice in the last year, our last visit being in May 2018. It is a really special place and absolutely fantastic.

Kath and John (the owners) have a real eye for design, comfort and ensuring peace and tranquility. Each lodge is really well planned out, beautifully decorated and maintained to the highest of standards. The cherry on the cake is the individual hot tub linked to each property - you can't beat a late evening soak looking up at the stars on a clear night. The grounds are equally lovely, with a few good walks around the estate with fabulous views.

Each lodge is really well provisioned, with a well equipped kitchen, BBQs available and super comfy beds. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Kath and John, who are really welcoming and have created a really special place.

Currently there are 4 lodges and the barn available to rent, with 2 more coming on board soon (there were very close to completion when we last visited, finished to the same specification with one overlooking the fishing lake on the grounds). Can't wait to re-visit!

May 2018

Have just spent a week at Otter Tarn staying in the Neddy Cut Lodge. The lodge is beautiful, very modern with fabulous floor to ceiling Windows across the whole front of the property, a wrap around deck and hot tub. The lodge is finished and equipped to a very high standard. It is ideally located in what feels like the middle of nowhere but actually is a short drive to the main road which will get you to many local attractions. The owner was really helpful providing lots of information and recommendations for eating out, things to do, places to shop etc. Would thoroughly recommend staying here and we would love to return. Oh and one final point, we found the wifi to be excellent.

October 2016

Stayed at Neddy Cut 16th Sept for a week. Accomodation was spotless, setting very relaxing, hot tub great for evening star gazing ! All the family enjoyed our time, plenty to see and do for all ages. Hoping to return soon.

September 2016

Tewets

Some friends booked one of the six lodges (Tewets) at Otter Tarn for a week and asked if we would like to join them. On arrival we were greeted by the owners (Kath & John) who made us feel really welcome and made sure we knew our way around the area.

The lodge we stayed in was modern and well designed with a wall of glass in the open plan kitchen/lounge/dining area. It was also immaculately clean and well looked after with high quality fixtures & fittings throughout (e.g. Villeroy & Boch) plus plenty of oak furnishings. In the lounge there was a ‘wrap around’ sofa which could be used to watch the big flat screen TV. The kitchen had virtually everything you could possibly need – washer, dishwasher, big fridge/freezer, cooker, microwave etc. Apart from a shortage of wine glasses I can’t think of anything that was missing. In the bedrooms there were also large patio doors and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in (including my own). The spacious en-suite bathrooms had walk in showers and plenty of hot water. The underfloor heating was so efficient (it includes some sort of heat exchanger) that we had to turn the thermostat down low and still found that we were very cosy. Although we were warned that the wi-fi wasn't good for streaming we found that we could still watch live sports using Sky Go without any problems so it was more than adequate.

Around the whole lodge there was a wide deck area where there was a large rattan table & chairs (in case the weather was kind) and a BBQ. Each lodge also comes with its own hot tub which was maintained daily, somewhere to enjoy a soak after a day out hiking. Surrounding the lodges are well maintained lawns which are kept short by robot lawnmowers, you could get distracted for hours just watching them wander around haphazardly. There was also plenty of wildlife including a resident hare, squirrels, bats and on one occasion an owl.

The lodges are located a bit out of the way down some narrow roads but are close to the lovely village of Cartmel and only a couple of miles from Lakeside on Windermere. The setting is very tranquil and there is plenty of walking directly from the lodges themselves if you decide not to drive one day. For shopping we used the up market Booths supermarket in Ulverston (7 miles away) which offers quality meat, fish & bread plus a massive choice of wines & beers. We also stocked up on meat & pies from the famous Higginsons butcher in Grange-Over-Sands (10 miles away) and cheese from the specialist cheese shop in Cartmel. There are several pubs within a short drive offering good food. You certainly won’t go hungry staying here.

Obviously all of the Windermere attractions are accessible from the lodge, while there we used the lake cruisers to visit Bowness, Ambleside, Wray Castle and Brockhole. We also had a great day out on the Ravenglass & Eskdale railway.

Compared to the many other ‘cottages’ we’ve stayed in I can honestly say that this is probably the best and I would certainly book again when returning to the Lakes.

September 2018

Last year my partner and I flew over from the US to spend a relaxing few days at Otter Tarn. We had been planning this trip for over a year and wanted everything to be perfect. After viewing all options we selected Tewets lodge. We were drawn to Otter Tarn for its beautiful views, peaceful setting and location. I must say we loved our time there! The rooms were wonderful, the kitchen was modern and easy to use. In the morning it was the perfect spot for a cup of coffee and a good book. While we were there we made the short jaunt to Lake Windermere where we rented a boat and spent the afternoon on the water. Another day was spent exploring the village of Cartmel, walking the streets and visiting shops. The other days were spent at the lodge where we relaxed in the hot tub, walked the estate so we could watch the belted Galloway calves playing in the field. It wasn’t just the location that made this a perfect holiday, but the owners of Otter Tarn could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They had suggestions for things to do, see and eat. All in all it was a magical experience and we are looking forward to booking another stay!

June 2016

Well what can I say. We stayed in Tewets for a week and I can honestly say it was absolutely 5 star. There was nothing that we needed that wasn't already there but if we had needed anything the wonderful owners would have been on it for us! They were incredible hosts looking in on us a couple of times during the week to check we were OK and the lovely fresh bread that we had on arrival. Tewets was more than home from home and it was great to have our own hot tub to relax in. There were lovely walks on the doorstep and we were minutes away from the lakes. I cannot recommend Otter Tarn enough.

March 2016

We stayed in Tewets. The lodges are immaculate, thoughtfully laid out and beautifully designed modern living spaces, perfect for a luxurious family getaway. Heated floors and log burner a much welcomed feature with the frosty weather outside. The kitchen is well-stocked with new cooking equipment, crockery and high end appliances. Outside, we didn't get to enjoy the terrace, given the chilly weather, but the hot tub made up for that and was wonderfully warm despite single digit temperatures! The setting is perfect - hidden away by a private tarn which is perfect for a pre-breakfast walk, this is the Lakes at their best. Thanks for a perfect week.

November 2016

Silly Knott

What a place! Can I go back now? My boyfriends family and I came here for a long weekend stay. We stayed in silly Knott cabin which was beautiful. The exterior design of the cabins blend in with the surrounds in perfect harmony. The interiors are lovely, perfect size for a family of 6, you aren't constantly on each other toes. The cabin is well equipped and had a multi-fuel log burner which was lovely to snuggle up in front of.

We LOVED the hot tub, sitting in there at night and looking up at the stairs with a glass of prosecco was how all evenings should be spent.

Would 100% recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway.

October 2018

We’ve just come home after a week away in this ideal Lakeland retreat. Otter Tarn had been recommended by a friend in Cartmel and from the first time I contacted Kath, I knew we would enjoy it. What was actually there more than exceeded our expectations. The Lodges are so well designed and built the quality is probably the best we’ve ever been in. All are well provisioned and decorated. Each Lodge has its own accompanying hot tub and kettle bbq.

We had Silly Knott which is one of five, soon to be six, Lodges and they are all of the same immaculate quality. The three bedrooms with en-suite showers or bath boast either king sized beds or twin singles for the kids.

We were welcomed with a small pack of essential goodies including home made bread, butter, tea and coffee.
Kath and John, the owners of Mungeon Farm, have organised the Otter Tarn complex so well and have maintained a quality product you can only wish it well. Their eye for detail ensures that standards are not dropped.

The grounds are well manicured and the adjacent Tarn, from where the complex is named, is quality for fishermen and available for tenants of the Lodges for an non too difficult saunter.

There is also a Barn near the farmhouse which has been renovated to a similar standard.

We have already booked again and will probably need another Lodge for more family members who are interested in ‘our’ find.

May 2018

Myself, my partner and son stayed in Silly Knott for a week recently. It is a beautiful accommodation in a stunning, peaceful area. The quality of the lodge is fantastic. Lots of space and modern. The hot tub was fantastic too. A big thanks to Kath for her delicious homemade bread which we thoroughly enjoyed alongside some lovely cheese from the local shop Kath recommended. Loved Cartmel for a little wander around too. My only regret is not booking for longer. We definitely plan to return for another fabulous holiday. Thanks again Kath

Louise, Gareth & Callan, September 2017

We stayed in Silly Knot for a week in August. Great location, top quality accommodation, stunning windows and views - topped off with a lovely hot tub. All very well maintained. We stay in quite a few lodges/holiday homes, and this is a cut above for the price range.

August 2016

Toad Mire

Staying at Otter Tarn absolutely exceeded our expectations! The view of the lake from Toad Mire is so stunning - A truly luxurious lakeside retreat ❤️ The lodge inside is so beautiful & tastefully designed...from the Log burning fire to the exceptional comfort....makes for you not wanting to leave !

Sarah, June 2019

My wife and I stayed in the Toad Mire lodge which is next to the Lake for a week in February. The cabin was lovely, really nicely decked out and all of the fixtures, fittings and amenities were of a very high standard. There was a lot of thought and detail into how it was kitted and including things like a Bluetooth speaker was really useful. The kitchen was very well equipped which was really important as we were mostly cooking at home, I can't think of any utensil or cooking equipment that was missing and there was even some tea, coffee, pods for the coffee maker and milk in the fridge when we arrived. The main sofa in the living room is huge and you can stretch out without getting in anyone's way (wish we could fit one of these at home).

The setting is idyllic and calming with beautiful views all around. Unfortunately we didn't catch sight of the otters but I think we'd have needed to be a bite more diligent. The site is very close to a number of small towns which had a nice variety of shops and places to eat, Cartmel and Grange we really liked. The butchers in Grange was really good and Cartmel had an amazing cheese shop. There are limitless places to go walking, running and cycling locally as well as good places to take kids for activities.

An enduring memory will be the service provided by Mrs Blackett throughout; she was really friendly and very quick to respond to any issues that we had. She gave us advice and insight about the area and always had a smile and a wave when we were coming and going. This was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed on holiday and we were already talking about booking again as we sadly departed on the last day.

One word of warning; if you are planning to do a fair bit of cooking at home then you may want to do some of your shopping before you get to the area - the main 'supermarket' is Booths which has lovely produce but is not cheap - worth stocking up on staples before you come if you need to keep costs down.

February 2019

We stayed in Toadmire for the week Friday 12th-19th Oct for our 20th Wedding Anniversary.. The property which I can safely say was amazing.. the view of the lake was stunning and looked different every day. There was 4 of us and our sons loved the hot tub too with fantastic views. They have thought of everything you’ll need and Kath was so welcoming and helpful.. especially as we arrived quite late and in the rain.. feels like you’re in the middle of nowhere yet close to many places to visit.. even Scafell Pike.. wow.. will definitely go back..

October 2018

We have stayed here before a couple of years ago , this time we booked the new addition to the lodges Toad Mire set on the banks of the Tarn if you want peace and tranquility this is perfect , standards are 5 star husband and wife team Kath and John the owners are the best hosts you could wish it's the most amazing part of the Lake District views are incredible great walks and so tranquil. This lodge I'm sure will be first choice on everyone's list so I suggest you book early as its in the perfect spot sitting in the hot tub as the sun goes down looking on to the tarn looking to spot a resident otter total bliss, will be back very very soon.

June 2018

View from Otter Tarn Lakestead
07789 502278
015395 31566
kath@ottertarn.com
mickie@ottertarn.com
Otter Tarn Logo

Otter Tarn, Mungeon Farm,
Backbarrow, Nr Ulverston,
Cumbria LA12 8EY